Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Been Too Long!

I can’t believe how long it’s been! Ayayayayay! 

Part of this is…summer is precious now for a teacher, going, going, gone, which is fine, it’s all good, I’ve always been that girl who loved all the seasons, and even to the Ms. Raina version of me, September is just as exciting as June. But the summer does go fast, and it’s filled with so much to do: first sleep off the exhaustion accumulated during the year, and then cook and bake and swim and read and write and travel and just be, breathing in the sweet breeze, doing nothing when possible.

summer-beach-pix

Okay, so underneath all the breezy summer excuses is another reason I haven’t been blogging.

I think I am becoming more private as a writer. I think I need that.

When I went to VCFA, I was happy to put my learning on display to my very appreciative writing community. I found it helpful to me, too. It was like college notes for all of us! But now…college is over. Now it’s just me and my work. I am still learning, still discovering something about myself and my craft, maybe even every day. Maybe that’s just the way it goes. But now I think I need to stay in a dark hidden space: just me and my discoveries.

So, why even have this blog then? Yes, I asked myself that very relevant question. I even started writing a good-bye post. But I haven’t quite made that decision, either.  So that’s where I am. That’s why the long, indecisive silence.

Blogging takes commitment. Energy. Long silences are getting weird. Nothing we do in life should be a maybe.

On the other hand, I do love the small community I’ve built here. Would I be able to find you all again if I started another blog on another site when the time is right God-knows-when?

Enjoy the rest of your summer, friends. Whatever I decide, I am grateful to you all for being here all these years — seven years to be exact, at least for some of you, wow! ❤

xoxoxo 

KR

August 28, 2016 - Posted by | Personal Mirror

10 Comments »

  1. That’s how I ended up in poetry. It begins in private until you’re ready to open up again.

    Comment by maggymoogie | August 28, 2016 | Reply

    • Weird how that works. But yes that’s kind of how it works!

      Comment by Katia Raina | August 28, 2016 | Reply

  2. I’ve stopped and started blogs. Many people do. You’d find us again. This week was back to school for kids and teachers worked all of last week.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | August 28, 2016 | Reply

    • Oh I didn’t know Medeia, that you tried a bunch before settling on your current blog! That’s encouraging!

      Comment by Katia Raina | August 28, 2016 | Reply

  3. Nice to see you back, Katia, even if it’s infrequent. Blogging is a conundrum, certainly. On the one hand, you have something important to say and you want to say it. On the other hand, will you have time to make the commitment to blog on a regular basis or risk losing followers otherwise? I’ve been blogging for seven years, myself, and the only way I can stick with it is to take frequent breaks (a couple of months here or there). I’m also a private writer, which is why my blog is mostly a book-review blog these days. Best of luck to you, whatever you do.

    Comment by Joanne R. Fritz | August 29, 2016 | Reply

    • I’ve been thinking about you recently, Joanne, remembering how we met at a conference. Still totally torn, still deciding, but it’s good to hear your perspective, as your blog is a great one!

      Comment by Katia Raina | August 29, 2016 | Reply

  4. Interesting question for me right now. I dropped out of blogging for months – only posted a few times in the last year. Recently I joined a marketing initiative with several other MG authors (#MGGetsReal) and that kicked my lazy blogger butt! I definitely lost followers during my silence. Perhaps because I was also not reading many blogs. So, I don’t know. If we are just a bunch of friends scratching each other’s backs, then is blogging necessary? I guess it depends if those relationships are truly important to our well-being. People are finding other ways to get the word out about their books. Perhaps you will want to simply use FB as a place to post.

    I will say, that joining #MGGetsReal was a terrific motivator. I dug down and did what I committed to and it has been energizing. I have a new book coming out in early October so spreading the word is suddenly important. We’ll see how I pull that off. Blogging (at my blog) may or may not be an important part of that.

    Katia – I bless you as you enter a new school year. I know that feeling. So bittersweet.

    Comment by joycemoyerhostetter | August 29, 2016 | Reply

    • Good thoughts, Joyce. Sounds like every blogger struggles with this question at some point. The funny thing is, this blog is not about selling books, for me. I mean, first of all, I don’t have any to sell yet, ha! But mostly, this blog is about connecting. Just keeping touch in a deeper way than Facebook. That’s why I think I am hesitant to let go. Thank you for helping me soul-search through this. Oh and CONGRATS on the new book!!!

      Comment by Katia Raina | August 29, 2016 | Reply

  5. I know exactly where you’re coming from, Katia. We don’t disappear just because we don’t blog. I remember the day I first heard the word, “blog.” I didn’t want any part of such an ugly word. I have two, but am about as consistent as the breeze. And that’s fine. Onward, and good luck. Enjoy every day and your work, love and community. That’s it, really.

    Comment by Wendy Wahman | August 29, 2016 | Reply

    • Thanks for your reassurance, Wendy. Inconsistent as the breeze sounds pretty lovely to me!

      Comment by Katia Raina | August 29, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

