Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

What’s Your Story?

“Life is a narrative we have a hand in writing.” Henriette Anne Klauser 

The reason I love life is because it’s  a series of adventures. Almost eight months ago I graduated with my dream MFA degree from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Now I am starting another one. This adventure feels just as important, if not more so.

Oh, I am a writer, and I always will be. That’s how I see the world, through a writer’s lens; that’s how I feel it too, through a writer’s heart. I have attempted things, made messes; I’ve started and finished and not finished; I’ve tried and played and failed and failed and failed and failed and failed. I will keep up with this, at least eventually, because isn’t that what writers do?

But, ironically, in the last two years especially, during the intense period of delving deep into the world of writing at VCFA, I discovered that my writer’s heart has many other chambers. (Lots of hallways and stairs, a basement and an attic, too.) And so I embarked on a quest to find more meaning still, to build a new career I could love. And now I am pretty sure — God I hope so! — that I found it.

What's your story?Tomorrow, I’ll be stepping across a threshold of a High School English classroom in a high-needs district in my state, as a brand new 11th grade teacher. I feel honored to work beside my dedicated colleagues who have so much heart and knowledge to give.

Most importantly, tomorrow, I’ll be talking to my students about how in many ways we write our own life stories. Tomorrow, I will ask them what theirs is going to be.

Tomorrow: what a big day it is going to be. Huge. This month is going to be a big month, too. Tomorrow, this week, next month loom vast and enormous and important. This means that as a new teacher I might not be able to carve out the time for writing. (Of course this is going to affect my blogging schedule. In truth, it might not be much of a schedule. 🙂 Just don’t be surprised if once in a beautiful moon, you’ll get a little “hey guys!” post in your mailbox. But don’t be surprised if you don’t get one for a while, either). Of course, as my wise classmate and fellow Darling Assassin Monica Roe said here on this blog, there are always excuses to put the writing off, and all we really have is the “cumulative power of now.”  So I hope to find my footing as a teacher soon, so that I can find a way to sneak the writing into my daily schedule once again. In the meantime though, I’ll still be writing — I’ll be filling new exciting pages in my own life’s story.

Love,

KR

September 7, 2015 - Posted by | Personal Mirror

4 Comments »

  1. Best of luck! I’ve worked in education for the past 9 years as a school nurse and there’s no profession I admire so much as teachers. What is more important than our youth? Blessed be

    Comment by Marta's | September 9, 2015 | Reply

  2. Thank you! Writing is one cool way to have a Great Conversation with the next generation. Teaching is another 🙂

    Comment by Katia Raina | September 9, 2015 | Reply

  3. Congrats on the new job. I barely wrote my first year of teaching because I was getting used to the job and there was so much to do. You’ll find that writing time.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | September 9, 2015 | Reply

    • Only day two of teaching, and that sounds about right, Medeia! Thanks for your encouragement.

      Comment by Katia Raina | September 10, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

