Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Flying

flyingHappy Monday, everyone!

Yes, happy Monday. Whether it’s a day job Monday, or just a busy Monday. Try to treasure it no matter what. Measure your Mondays with new words, measure them with love, with little bits of beauty.

Try to fly through Mondays, if you can. Try to, even if you cannot.

I think it’s time for another Vermont College of Fine Arts update. You know, my dream and goal for so long, the MFA program in Writing For Children And Young Adults.

So, I am on packet 4 of 5, as of this writing. I cannot believe the semester is almost over.

This packet, I am paying close attention to language. The flow of sentences, the choice of words, the sounds that words make when they plop, slide or explode upon the page. As I read books, I keep my ear open for melody. I align my heart to the rhythm of the sentence.

I am also re-examining beginnings. What makes the reader care? How do writers make promises in ways that are exciting, but also true?

And then, of course, there is my own writing. The getting stuck, and sometimes unstuck. I am asking all kinds of questions. Grasping at hints of answers. Sometimes, rejoicing at the tiniest of discoveries. Often, panicking.

Oh God, the ride is scary, and getting scarier with every packet. Painful too, my writing bones aching with all the growth.

But if it’s all so tough and nerve-wracking, why oh why then am I having the time of my life?

I don’t know because I have never tried, but I imagine this is what flying must feel like.

One last thing for today: the winner of last week’s giveaway is…Michael Gettel-Gilmartin! Email me your address, Michael, to katiawrites (at) gmail (dot) com, and I will send you your very own brand new copy of The Marble Queen by Stephanie Blake, a fun new middle-grade novel set in 1959!

Whoo-hoo for you, and thank you so very much for participating!

Once again, happy Monday, dear friends and readers. May this week be a bright one for you all. And keep on trying to fly. It’s impossible. Also, it’s worth it.
xoxo
Katia

May 6, 2013 - Posted by | Updates, VCFA Adventures, Writing Mirror | , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Congrats to Michael.

    Learning a lot and realizing things is a natural high. It’s an amazing feeling.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | May 6, 2013 | Reply

    • Natural high, yes. Of course, where there are highs, there are also lows. But the highs make it worth it, a thousand times over. 🙂 I am sure you know this, M. We all have our different ways to learn. Have a great week!

      Comment by Katia Raina | May 6, 2013 | Reply

  2. Glad you are having such a great time with the program at Vermont College. I’ve thought about going after a Master’s in children’s writing, but I’m not sure I have the energy any more. Getting old sucks, but the alternative is much worse.

    Comment by Rosi | May 6, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh man, yes, Rosi, it requires energy and more. And remember, it’s just another way to learn. Happy Monday, happy writing, happy learning! 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | May 6, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’m happy for Michael!

    And I’m happy for you, Katia. Four fifths of the way: you’re so close! I know it’s hard work, but it’s good to hear you’re having fun too.

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | May 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you, Joanne. Four-fifth of the way to the end of the first semester. Am not thinking beyond that right now, just cannot. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | May 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

