Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Hiding Out At The Pancake Palace: Another MG Giveaway — With A Catch

hiding out at the pancake palaceCome on, lovely people! Spread the word! Nan Marino’s second novel, Hiding Out At The Pancake Palace was released out into the world last week! I am ashamed to say I have not read it yet (except for an absolutely gorgeous first chapter). Still, I am privileged to say I know a lot about the story. Nan and I spent many late nights at our local diner talking about her many adventures writing this book. (Yes, I am doubly privileged to count Nan as not only my  good writing friend, but practically a neighbor! Lucky me, right?)

I have an enormous TBR list of fantasy and dystopian stuff I am trying to work through for my next VCFA packet, but I will get to what I am certain is an amazing story as soon as I can.

Meanwhile, those of you guys who are either not currently enrolled into an MFA program, or whose lists include realistic fiction, will probably get the chance to read this treasure before I do. Lucky!!!

Here is the summary: A super-famous 11-year-old singer freezes up on stage during a big-deal singing contest show. He runs off to hide in the Jersey Pines, wild paparazzi on his trail and befriends a local girl with an inability to perceive music.

Doesn’t that sound wild?            Nan and me (left to right), celebrating!

According to a Kirkus starred review, “the audience will eat it up!”

Yum!

Nan, who is also the author of Neil Armstrong Is My Uncle And Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me (also from Roaring Book Press) had a long road to writing success, which is something she talks about at her book signings and visits. Yes, she went through many rejections, many manuscripts, tough times. So seeing her success now is doubly encouraging for both writers and young readers!

So, here is the deal, my dears. I have a brand new, fresh-smelling copy of “Hiding Out” sitting on the shelf, that I would be happy to give away to a worthy winner.

But a giveaway contest is more fun with a whole bunch of participants, clamoring for the prize, don’t you think? 🙂

So, this week, I decided my contest will have a catch. If you want to participate, leave a comment here. And then, bring a guest along to this party! Find a friend — preferably someone interested in great books for young people, of course.  Just one friend, I am not greedy! Tell them to leave a comment here too, and their name will be entered into a contest along with yours, as long as their comment mentions your name — that is, the name of the person who referred them.

Any questions, troops?

What’s that? Do I hear grumbling? Or is that a murmur of excitement?

To thank the participants for going through the trouble, I will sweeten the prize. Once I have a winner, I will meet up with Nan and ask her to autograph the book with the winner’s name! I know Nan will say yes. She is cool like that.

So, come on, everyone! Let’s make this big! You want me to keep hosting giveaway contests here at the Magic Mirror, don’t you? (Yes, there might be an implied threat in there somewhere… A carrot and a stick, hm?)

Take it away, dear friends and readers! And once again, congratulations, Nan!

Cheers!

KR

P.S. This contest ends at the end of Friday, April 26th. Winner will be announced on Monday, April 29th. And if you guys are good and give me a nice turnout, then I’ll reward you all with one more MG giveaway next week!

April 22, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. This is another exciting contest, Katia! I was the very lucky winner of Shannon Hitchcock’s book, The Ballad of Jesse Pearl, which arrived in my mailbox on Saturday! Thank you so much for getting it to me so quickly! Don’t put me in for a chance to win, much as I’d love it! I do plan to read Nan’s new book, and will tweet this post!

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | April 22, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you, Clara, that would be great! I am so glad you plan to get Nan’s book. And I appreciate your help spreading the word — trying something new is always a little scary 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  2. Well, I think this is super fun! And I like the sound of Nan’s book. If I am not to have it in my greedy little hands, I nominate Joanne Fritz who told me about your giveaway.

    Comment by Michael Gettel-Gilmartin | April 22, 2013 | Reply

    • Woo-hoo, warm welcome to the first customer!! 😉 Thrilled to have you here, Michael. I sort of hope you win, just for being first! And thank you so much dear Joanne, for sending Michael my way. I sort of hope you win too. Darn. Good thing it’s not really up to me. It’s up to Fate! (Unless you two are the only participants. Then I’ll make sure you both win something!)

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  3. Well, I don’t know what happened to the comment I left earlier, but I’d love to read this book! Sounds intriguing. And earlier I said I was off to tell friends. Obviously, I’ve already done that. Thanks for the chance to win, Katia!

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | April 22, 2013 | Reply

    • Disappearing comments…Cyber weirdness…But thanks for spreading the word, Joanne! You are the best! (Does that mean I should enter you again?) #confusedbymyownrules But I’ll figure it out!

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  4. This looks like a really fun book. Love the cover! Thanks for running the giveaway. Joanne Fritz told me about it.

    Comment by Rosi | April 22, 2013 | Reply

    • Yay, Rosi! So glad to have you, and thanks for entering!

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  5. I’d love to win! And Joanne Fritz also mentioned the giveaway to me and referred me here. Nice job, Joanne!

    Comment by Barbara Watson | April 22, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks for stopping by, Barbara. You’re in! And yes, Joanne rocks! 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 22, 2013 | Reply

      • On the contrary, I think my middle grade blogging friends rock! And no, you don’t have to enter me more than once.

        Comment by Joanne Fritz | April 23, 2013

  6. We shall see, Joanne. You sort of saved this giveaway. I am either entering you twice, or…or something. Something. 🙂
    And absolutely, your friends rock, too! Love, K

    Comment by Katia Raina | April 23, 2013 | Reply

  7. Go Nan! This one is going to be awesome!

    Comment by Stephanie J. Blake | April 23, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Stephanie! You’re next, dear! (I mean, the long-overdue post about your fabulous book is coming up next) 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 23, 2013 | Reply

  8. I saw this on Nan’s fb page and can’t wait to read it!

    Comment by kt alba | April 23, 2013 | Reply

  9. This looks amazing. I can’t read to read Nan’s new book. I’ll try to mention this post somewhere.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | April 23, 2013 | Reply

    • That’d be great, Medeia, thanks!

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

