Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Giveaway Winner And Happy Pub Day To Nan Marino!

April Middle-Grade Month is rolling along here at the Magic Mirror. Last Monday I talked to Shannon Hitchock, my fellow Namelos debut author.  Well, really, you guys did! Those of you who sent your questions, I thank you for participating. That was so much fun. The answers were really illuminating to me, and I don’t think you can find some of those elsewhere in cyber space 😉 Once again, Shannon, congratulations on writing such an exquisite song of a book.

Those of you who didn’t win, if you’re into history and beautiful writing, I hope you get a copy, both in support of Shannon, and also because I think you owe it to yourselves, I really do!

And now…it’s time to announce the winner of the giveaway! My daughter is in school, and thus unavailable to help me pick a name out of a hat the way she usually does for these contests. (Yes, I like a personal touch.)

That's my girl Lucky So I asked my other daughter to step in. Lucky is very good at pointing. She took the job seriously.

Good girl. Good girl! Hey! You’ve already picked! Now leave my hat alone! Leave it! That’s my favorite hat!!!

Anyway. [Clears throat]. The winner is:….. CLARA GILLOW CLARK!

Clara is a fellow author and a longtime supporter of the Magic Mirror. Yay, Clara! I already have your email address, and so I’ll be in touch later today. I am thrilled that you won. Thank you so much for participating.

Next week, I am planning to talk to my super writing friend Nan Marino. (Yes, she’s both a super writer and a super friend).

I’ll be talking to Nan about her second book, Hiding Out At The Pancake Palace: a middle-grade title featuring music, friendship and secrets set in the Jersey Pines. Hiding Out is officially released tomorrow! Woo-hoo! I know how hard you’ve been working on this book, Nan.

Tomorrow, I’ll be going to the launch party, and I am beyond excited. I’ll have you know I’ve never been to a book launch party before. Is there a dress code?

Congratulations on what I am sure is going to be another amazing success!

Next Monday, look for an interview/post all about Nan and her writing awesomeness.

April 15, 2013 - Posted by | Book Impressions

4 Comments »

  1. I am so thrilled to be the winner of Shannon’s book. April 15th turned out to be a lucky start to my week! Thank you, Katia, for featuring Shannon on your blog. Thank you, Shannon, for writing the book! I can’t wait to read it.

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | April 15, 2013 | Reply

  2. Glad I gave a lucky start to your week, Clara! A Lucky start. She’s the one who picked you 😉

    Comment by Katia Raina | April 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. Congrats to Clara.

    I can’t wait to read Nan’s latest book.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | April 16, 2013 | Reply

    • And I can’t wait to hear what you think when you read it! Just back from her book launch. Nan was awesome, of course 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

