Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Happy March 1!

In Russia the first of March is celebrated as the first day of spring. And even though I have been here in the United States for almost twenty years (longer than I have lived back in the good old USSR), this is one of those traditions that stuck, I guess, because today my step has that extra spring in it.

I love all seasons. But since childhood, spring has been special. Back in Russia it meant shedding heavy coats at last, getting to stay out in the yard later, looking for podsnezhniki, or snowdrop flowers in the woods with my babushka.  Spring meant teachers getting kinder. Spring meant suddenly noticing a cute boy in my class.

Today spring still holds a promise. Spring makes it okay to be glad, silly, exuberant. There is something about this season that speaks to the kid I still am.

So I’d like to take this occasion to wish you happy spring, dear friends and readers. May your life fill with birdsong, may it sprout with many new shoots.

love,

Katia

podsnezhnik

March 1, 2013 - Posted by | Personal Mirror | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Beautiful and inspiring little paean to spring. Thanx!

    Comment by Jim S. | March 1, 2013 | Reply

    • Glad you found it so, Jim. Happy spring, once again!

      Comment by Katia Raina | March 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. “May your life fill with birdsong, may it sprout with many new shoots.”

    And yours, also, dear Katia.

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | March 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you! I love your thoughts on spring!

    Comment by Barbara Holland | March 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks Barbara! To me noticing spring is just another way to celebrate being alive. (Though I have to say this weekend didn’t feel very spring-y, ha, not with the crazy wind here at the Jersey Shore.)

      Comment by Katia Raina | March 4, 2013 | Reply

  4. We don’t really have a spring here since it doesn’t get too cold where I am, but I loved spring in New York. Everything seemed to come alive. I remember the flowers growing in my building’s courtyard and the nearby park the most.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | March 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Yes, Medeia, that’s what I love about spring, everything coming alive, or well, at least awakening. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | March 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

