Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Day 6 of the 31-Minute Challenge: Learn From Your Dog

states 09 368My three-something-year-old Brittany, Lucky, is a lovely, charming girl with quite impressive dog manners. Ask anyone in the neighborhood. 🙂

Still, like any dog she knows what she wants when she wants it.

If you own a puppy of any breed, age or temperament, then you know perfectly well what a term “dogged” means.

Dogged is what they are, when they pursue a squirrel. Beg for food. Keep returning to the one spot they can’t go to — again, and again, and again.

You want something bad? Take an inspiration from your dog. Wrap your teeth around that chew toy. Clamp’em down with everything you’ve got. And don’t let go.

Dogged is the only way to be if you want to achieve anything worthwhile, anything extraordinary.

I wrote another way about this crazy doggedness a few years ago here. I hope it speaks to you.

How did everyone’s first week of the month/year/challenge go? Were you able to keep up during the weekend, too? And are you guys ready for week 2?

I know it’s going to be a crazy week for me, that’s for sure. (Will be posting on that in a few days).

Cheers to all of you! You guys are wonderful. Truly.

January 6, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

20 Comments »

  1. It’s been a great first week. I was able to write, despite being ill.

    Comment by Miranda Hardy | January 6, 2013 | Reply

  2. Yay for us! Hope you feel better, Miranda. I’ve also been fighting off yet another cold, but I managed at least 2 sessions a day every day. Now I look forward to those 31 minutes (or more) with no internet, no distractions; and I can’t wait to open my Word doc every time.

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  3. Nice. 🙂 So proud of you!!

    Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. The first week was harder than I thought–in fact, as soon as I log off here, I have to go do today’s 31. The concreteness of life can nudge dreams aside, but so far, I’ve been shoving back!

    Comment by Wendy Greenley | January 7, 2013 | Reply

    • As long as you shove back, Wendy! Just keep telling yourself, 31 minutes, how hard can it be? And before you know it, your timer will be beeping. Looking forward to running your guest post tomorrow!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  5. I started the challenge on December 6th, I was so excited I couldn’t wait for January to arrive. So, I already have a month behind me. Everyday since I started the challenge, I’ve met or exceeded the 31 minutes, even on Christmas and New Years Eve. At this point, I’ve revised 2 picture books and am nearly 2000 words into a new middle grade fiction story. Keep up the good work everyone!

    Comment by Dori Stone | January 7, 2013 | Reply

    • You know what that means, right Dori? You’re our first winner! Woo-hoo! I’d love to know what’s next for you. Are you hooked on writing once again now? Will you continue? I’d love another guest post about those things! If you’re in the mood, email me 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  6. Katia,

    I couldn’t agree more! I have two cocker spaniels and if they have taught me one thing…it’s persistence! If they want something…they will do anything to get their way! It’s amazing what dogs can teach you. It’s day 6 and still going strong!

    Comment by Robin Hutchinson | January 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Go, Robin! It’s amazing what dogs can teach you…yes. Not just the doggedness 🙂 Another thing I love about dogs is how “in the moment” they are, you know?

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  7. This has been a fun 6 days for me. I have started a noval that I thought was just going to be short story for YA. This could be a fun challenge for me.

    Comment by Mary Morrison | January 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Mary, I know what you mean about short stories turning into novels. I suffer from that affliction greatly, myself! 🙂 Either way, so glad you’re having fun with this. Keep on!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2013 | Reply

  8. Couldn’t make it on the 3rd and 4th, but the rest is there.

    Comment by AH | January 7, 2013 | Reply

    • AH, could your standards have been too high? Was this because you were aiming for continuous 31-minute intervals? Because, just for your info, for the purposes of this challenge, non-continuous works too. Either way, glad you’re still in the running.

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2013 | Reply

      • No, no, I’ve been doing non-continuous intervals everytime. The days I missed were during the weekend when I went home to see family…

        Comment by AH | January 8, 2013

  9. I am so glad to hear that. I worked on a story this morning for a few min. and then someone came over. I just finished an outline for a non-fiction piece about milk. Have a nice night.

    Comment by Mary Morrison | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • This is meant to be small, easy and do-able, something you could easily make a commitment to. Sounds like you’re moving along nicely, Mary!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2013 | Reply

  10. Well, I’m still in the challenge, but sometimes I’m writing later at night than I want to (like now). I’m working on a short story and also preparing clips/resume to send in to several work for hire places, which is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. This 31 minute thing is working….thanks!

    Comment by Maureen | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Yay, Maureen! So glad to hear it! As for working later in the day, I know what you mean. I still maintain that the earlier the better. A “don’t put off till tomorrow what you can do today” adage adopted, I guess. Then again, it’s been working for you so far, and that’s the important thing, right? One friend of mine wrote at 11:29 p.m. a few days ago, but I think that’s pushing it a little 😉

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2013 | Reply

  11. I went to my crit group tonight, which is always inspirational.

    I know what dogged means. 🙂

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | January 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Your comment made me smile, Medeia. 🙂 So glad you’re fitting writing in, busy as you are.

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

