Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Happy Holidays, Whatever It Is You Celebrate!

Next week, I’ll be talking more about the 31-minute challenge, which I am delighted to report, really seems to resonate.

In the meantime, though, tomorrow is the first night of Hanukkah, the Jewish holiday that celebrates faith, miracles and freedom. Time to rescue that menorah and  buy a humongous bag of potatoes for the latkes.

As for the Christmas tree, I already have it up, in case you were wondering.  Happy holidays!

Yes, we’re one of those families. I am Jewish. My husband comes from the Christian tradition. Our kids attend neither Hebrew School nor CCD. They just get lots of presents this time of the year. 🙂

I am sure some people have a problem with that choice. Orthodox Judaism, for one, encourages Jews to “stick to their own kind,” and worries about the rising rates of intermarriage. Meanwhile, just next door and across the street, in our highly decorated and Christmas-y neighborhood, some lawn signs proclaim, “Keep Christ In Christmas,” while one of our bushes sits there decked with little dreidels that light up at night.

I respect the sentiment. I really do. I think those who want to keep things pure are brave and noble in their quest to preserve the original meaning of their holidays. They fight to save the traditions of their faiths going back many centuries, even while families like mine create brand new traditions.

Pure colors help keep the world’s palette in perspective. But where would we be without the pinks, the turquoises and the purples of this world?

Whatever you celebrate, happy holidays to you and yours. Even from the distance, be it miles or theological differences, in the end, we all celebrate together. When we watch our Christmas lights or menorah candles break the cold winter dark into a million pieces, we acknowledge the existence of magic in our imperfect world.

Wishing you the best this holiday season!

Love,

Katia

December 7, 2012 - Posted by | Personal Mirror, Politics and Religion | ,

9 Comments »

  1. Enjoy your holiday(s), Katia. I have dozens of cookies to bake and share with family/friends. Our family tradition of handing out the holiday treats seems to go over well with everyone in my neighborhood! Sending you some virtual sugar…

    Comment by wendy | December 7, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Wendy! None of my neighbors ever commented on our decorations, except one lady across the street from us who says she enjoys watching the Hanukkah lights in our window flicker every night, even though she celebrates Christmas. I have to say I like this kind of spiritual togetherness… And sharing cookies is just another manifestation of that, I think.
      Enjoy the season — I’m sure your neighbors know how lucky they are. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. I love having you in my world. I have a menorah even though I kind of don’t know how to use it. (I should do more research regarding specific readings etc.)

    I think it’s grand to celebrate each other’s traditions. Wish I could eat your latkes!

    Comment by joycemoyerhostetter | December 8, 2012 | Reply

    • We’ve got to have you over for Hanukkah sometime, Joyce, if you’re in the neighborhood 😉 My best friend is Christian, too, but she loves coming over for latkes and a game of dreidel with her daughter. Oh, and thank you, Joyce.

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 8, 2012 | Reply

      • Gonna have to work at being in your neighborhood during Hanukkah!

        Comment by joycemoyerhostetter | December 11, 2012

  3. I love the holidays. I love how there are several going on around the same time. I’m almost done with shopping and writing cards. Plus, I look forward to vacation time soon.

    Happy holidays.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | December 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, even when they aren’t “ours” to celebrate, they are lovely to know. The more the merrier 🙂
      Congrats on finishing the shopping and the cards. And I’m sure you deserve a good break!

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 10, 2012 | Reply

  4. Haha, I understand this one. My girlfriend is Jewish. I am agnostic but my family celebrates Christmas. We have a menorah and a tree as well. 🙂

    Comment by The Smile Scavenger | December 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

