Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Happy Birthday, Magic Mirror!

When I was little I lived apart from my mom and I missed her something awful. But she told me she always knew what I was up to, because she had a magic mirror. She knew if I had made my bed that day. Or if I got a good grade. Or made a friend.

I’ll tell you, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on that magic mirror. I had so many questions! Imagine, all the things I would learn about the world? All the people I could spy on! All the secrets I would uncover! But each time I’d finally see my mom, I’d ask, “where, where, where is it?” And she’d go, “oh, man, what did I do with it? Where did I put it?” Or she’d say, “Your grandmother has it, because you are with me now, and that way she can keep track of what’s going on with you.”

The magic mirror became my Santa Clause. My tooth fairy.

It became something I held on to even after I grew up and learned that my babushka,  my grandmother who raised me, was the one who shared all the details of my days with my mom. Of course I was really upset when I found out. I’ve been had!

Still. I will never forget this thing my mom did for me – this story she left me with. I am not sure I would have even become a writer, if I didn’t have my magic mirror.

In late November 2009 my agent suggested I start something on blogger or wordpress, or anywhere. A conversation. A virtual calling card. It seemed fitting to name my new blog after this great legend of my childhood.

Now, two years later, I am still amazed each time I read someone’s comment. Each time, it feels like magic. The fact that there are people out there whom I have never met, but whom I can see, can hear, can understand, can know, through a magic mirror.

Cheers, guys! And happy birthday, Magic Mirror 🙂

November 25, 2011 - Posted by | Personal Mirror

14 Comments »

  1. Katia, have you read THE GLASS CASTLE by Jeannette Walls? In some ways your magic Mirror reminds me of her the glass castle that Jeannette’s daddy was planning for her. Very different in many ways but something fictional that sparked the imagination and made up for some of the losses in her life.

    I am so glad you are blogging and that I found your online mirror which feels quite magical to me too. Happy Birthday!

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | November 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh hi, Joyce!! No, I haven’t, and now I must! I think I saw it on the shelves once browsing in a bookstore and something about it tugged at me, but I never picked it up. I am so glad that I saw you through my magic mirror!!!
      Love,
      K

      Comment by Katia Raina | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  2. Ooops! I apologize for the typos. I need to do better with my revisions!

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. Aww, this is such a sweet story. And the Internet really is a Magic Mirror too, isn’t it?

    Happy Blog Birthday!

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. What a great story! Your blog is definitely one of my favorites.

    Comment by Ben | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thanks for getting it, Joanne and Ben. You guys are too good to me. 🙂

    Comment by Katia Raina | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. I had wondered what the name of your blog meant. What an amazing story. There are certain things my mother shared with me that made me want to write.

    Happy blogiversary!

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | November 26, 2011 | Reply

    • I’d love to know what your mother shared with you, too. Maybe one day I’ll see it in a magic mirror 🙂 Thanks so much, Medeia.

      Comment by Katia Raina | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. Happy blog birthday Katia. Thank you for sharing the origins of your blog’s name. I’m so glad I found you.

    Comment by Sarah Pearson | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. What a lovely, touching post. Congratulations on your two years of blogging. May there be many more. I love knowing the stories behind the stories. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Comment by Julie | November 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, Julie, and happy blog birthday right back to you. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  9. I love this story, Katia. By the way, if it wasn’t for your blog, we wouldn’t have become friends. And what’s more magical than finding a friend? Happy birthday to the Magic Mirror!

    Comment by nan marino | December 3, 2011 | Reply

    • So true — and you’re right, amazing! I found you in the Magic Mirror 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

