Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

“Blue” and “Comfort” by Joyce Moyer Hostetter Reissued in Paperback: Another Double Giveaway!

Ah, I just can’t resist! My friend Joyce Moyer Hostetter, in celebration of the issuing of her TWO books in paperback, “Blue” and its sequel, “Comfort,” is circulating these two awesome book trailers.

“Blue” is a middle-grade story about a girl who in 1944 “put on her overalls and became a man of the house,” “became best friends with a colored girl” and learned that “all of life is fragile as a mimosa blossom.”

“Comfort,” a sequel to “Blue” takes the reader into the post-war America, where the protagonist of “Blue,” now a fourteen year-old, battles with the after-effects of polio and war.

Joyce is graciously donating the two books to me, just as a thanks for participating in the contest on her own blog (or maybe just because she’s nice, or maybe both). I would love love love to just keep them, re-read “Blue,” read “Comfort,” and celebrate Joyce. But I can’t resist an awesome giveaway. I know I am totally spoiling you, but what can I do? I am addicted, people!!

Have any of you read those two fine historical novels? I haven’t actually read “Comfort” yet, and I will, but the reviews say it’s even better than “Blue,” so wow, I can only imagine!  I have read “Blue” even before Joyce and I became friends, and I heartily recommend this poignant, original page-turner.

But whether or not you read the books, would you help me spread the word about them by posting a link to her book trailers for both “Blue” and for “Comfort?” Leave a comment telling me where and how you did this, so I can enter you into this marvelous giveaway. Tell your friends — tell everyone! Let’s make this big, eh?

You’ve got one week — ready, set, go!

In other news, did you know that yesterday was National Writing Day? A day, to celebrate the linking of words into stories is an actual national holiday as of 2009. Started by a group og high school teachers, National Writing Day celebrates and promotes everything writing: from research papers and poetry, to texts to your friends and Facebook status updates… 🙂 Anyway, here is a column I wrote about some Jersey Shore authors sharing some pretty intimate thoughts about their writing processes in honor of Writing Day.

Happy writing — and happy reading, too (for how can we have one without the other? 😉

October 21, 2011 - Posted by | Writing Mirror | ,

10 Comments »

  1. I posted it on my facebook! I love the time period that these books take place and I often wish that I lived back then.

    -Stephanie =)

    Comment by Stephanie Pyle | October 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Stephanie, you’re in! Okay, there was a lot of beauty back then. But, I’m sure the people of that time could do without the racism and the polio. But if you love that period, then yeah, you’ll so love Joyce’s work.

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. What a lovely piece you wrote Katia, I wish National Writing Day was more widely recognised.
    I won’t enter your competition – the postage would be ridiculous, but I will post about the trailers next week sometime. In the meantime, just in case there are some places that Joyce hadn’t thought of, Tirzah has a great list of places to ‘pimp’ your trailer at http://acleverwhatever.blogspot.com/2011/10/book-trailer-where-to-pimp-your-book.html

    Comment by Sarah Pearson | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hi Katia,

    I posted to FaceBook, but just to spread the word for Joyce! Great post!

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. Sarah and Clara, it is just too cute how you both are trying to protect me from my giveaway addiction! 🙂 Thanks so much for helping me spread the word.

    Comment by Katia Raina | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. Sarah and Clara, You guys are, indeed, too cute! Katia, and I haven’t discussed the logistics but I can mail from here so that she doesn’t have to deal with postage and handling.

    Thanks Katia for spreading the word! Such a lovely post this is!

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | October 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, Joyce! I’ll email you!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. I love reading about this time period.

    I wasn’t aware of National Writing Day, but I was writing that day. 🙂

    I Tumbled the videos and placed the link of this post on Facebook.

    http://sharifwrites.tumblr.com/

    https://www.facebook.com/sharifwrites

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | October 22, 2011 | Reply

    • The best way to celebrate, don’t you think? I wrote, too 😉
      Thanks for sharing the links!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] you to those of you who responded last week and helped me promote Joyce’s lovely re-issued books. Once again, I let my daughter pick the lucky winner of Joyce Moyer Hostetter’s TWO amazing […]

    Pingback by The Winner « MAGIC MIRROR | October 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

