Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

New Blog Spotlight: Introducing Bree and “The Magic Attic”

I decided to do something different this week. Instead of interviewing an author, reviewing a book, or sharing another glimpse into my writing journey, I would like to present to you a teenaged blogger from California, who goes by the name of “Bree,” at least online, reads YA books by the hundreds (well, she says she’s up to about two hundred so far), and blogs about books and authors.

She only started her blog in March of this year, and just last month the blog got about 7500 hits, with editors and authors sending her all those shiny ARCs.

“It’s been really, really fun!” Bree said. “I’ve met all kinds of wonderful book lovers and amazing authors both through the screen and at bookish events that I never would’ve met if it wasn’t for book blogging.”
As for the ARCs, “I’ve just received Tempest by Julie Cross, Darker Still by Leanne Renee Hieber, and Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder,”  Bree said. “They all sound extremely good, and I can’t wait to read them!”

Oh, the joy of receiving a fresh-smelling, shiny-looking ARC [Advanced Reading Copy] to review! 🙂

In general, Bree loves books across genres. Her most favorite genre, is YA romance, still she loves fantasy, paranormal and dystopian fiction most of all.

“I love books that take me to a different place,” Bree said. “Forget time traveling machines. I love how I can just crack open a book and travel back however many years I was to whenever the story takes place.”

But what about historical fiction?

Bree said she preferred books taking place in the past that have an element of magic, science fiction, or fantasy.

(That was the other list I was going to compile for you guys on this blog, btw. Soon, soon, I promise!)

Bree talked about “steampunk” novels like “Clockwork Angel” by Cassandra Care, and “The Girl in the Steel Corset” by Kady Cross.

In addition to being a passionate reader, Bree is a writer, with some short stories published in an anthology, but she dreams of publishing a YA novel one day. “I really want to walk into my local Barnes and Noble one day and see my book on the shelf among the other amazing, published books,” she said. “That was actually one of the goals I had when I was little. My teacher asked me to write down some of my goals, and I wrote: ‘Write a book and buy a copy for mommy and daddy.'”

On her blog Bree calls herself a “shy teenager, bookworm, reader, book blogger, field hockey lover, hopeless romantic, figure skater [and] dreamer” who “uses way too many smiley faces in her writing, and laughs at the randomest things.” She has been competing in figure skating since the age of three, and just recently fell in love with field hockey.

In fact, a lot of the reading Bree does happens while waiting for her turn at the field hockey rink, Bree said.

I hope you will stop by her lovely looking blog, “The Magic Attic!”

Good luck, Bree, and I hope we’ll be seeing your name in print some day! (And if that happens, be sure to send me a shiny ARC!) 😉

October 14, 2011 - Posted by | Interviews, Writing Mirror | , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Congratulations to Bree and her super successful blog. How fantastic to be getting all those ARCs and the opportunity to read books before the rest of us!

    Great post, Katia, and truly something a little bit different!

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Clara! Yes, reading advanced copies makes one feel like a member of the club, right? 😉

    Comment by Katia Raina | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. I really enjoyed this post. All power to Bree for building her blog so quickly. I have no doubt we’ll be reading her book one day 🙂

    Comment by Sarah Pearson | October 15, 2011 | Reply

    • I know, right? At the rate she’s going 😉

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 15, 2011 | Reply

  4. I enjoyed learning about Bree and her blog. I love ARCs, too. 🙂

    Good luck to her on her her writing aspirations. She’s already done lots for her age with her blog and short stories.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | October 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Aaand, she started a novel already. So yeah, I say, she’s doing great! Glad you guys enjoyed this one!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 15, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thanks so much for featuring me on your blog! It was a lot of fun 🙂 and thanks for all the lovely comments.

    Comment by Bree | October 16, 2011 | Reply

    • It’s been a pleasure, Bree. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on your blog in deciding what I should be reading next!!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  6. It’s wonderful to see someone working so hard– both to succeed as a writer, and also to help support the efforts of others in the community.

    Comment by storymultiverse | October 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, working so hard — and having a great time doing it! 🙂 As for building the writing community, thanks so much for stopping by. That’s what it’s all about.

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 20, 2011 | Reply

  7. Interesting interview. Really enjoyed it! Bree seems to be doing really well! This probably doesn’t relate much to your site but I wonder if you can do a feature post on the site, ReadWave and perhaps the founders, Rob and Raoul?

    I would be very grateful if you could get back to me on my blog (the link is there if you click my name) or by email: submissions@readwave.com

    Comment by NyNy | February 12, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi! Sadly it seems Bree is no longer blogging… But sure, I’d love to do a little feature on you guys. I’m always up for that. Just one catch: I’m crazy busy lately! (Yeah, I know, the excuse of the century.) 🙂 What I’m saying is, bear with me. I’d like to email you sometime next week. Sounds good? Thanks for stopping by!

      Comment by Katia Raina | February 12, 2013 | Reply

      • Really? Aw, that’s a shame D:

        Whenever you are free is fine. A feature on the site mostly would be great if you could! Please check out ReadWave.com so you can view the site more!

        Comment by NyNy | February 12, 2013


Leave a Reply

