Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Surprise!

Everyone loves surprises. Flowers from your husband, an email from your agent saying they want to represent you, a character in your book who suddenly starts talking to you in this confident voice, who doesn’t love these, right?

But even small surprises can be good for the soul. A book that takes your breath away with a twist you didn’t see coming. A nugget of wisdom from your seven-year-old daughter. The beauty of an early October day when you step outside to take out the recycling.

I think I appreciate surprises even more than an average person. I am one of those, “don’t tell me” people: don’t tell me what will happen in the book, don’t tell me what I’m getting for my birthday, don’t tell me what the weather will be like on a day I get a call from my agent saying that an editor wants to turn my manuscript into a book . . . Ahem. You get the idea.

I don’t want to know, I want to feel.

So anyway, as someone with a super-fine appreciation for surprises, nothing gives me more pleasure than to introduce those into other people’s lives — even if the surprises are little ones.

I only had three people participate in last week’s giveaway of Kieran Scott’s “She’s So Dead To Us.” I’d like to thank those people for being there, for taking the time to stop by when there are so many other blogs out there just bursting with wisdom and controversy, friendship, fun and great advice… Thus the surprise: to thank you guys for continuing to read The Magic Mirror, I am giving away three books instead of one — so no one who commented on last week’s post is left empty-handed.

Here is a random assignment of winners (if you already read the book you will be getting, just give it away on your own blog — play it forward!)

Medeia Sharif will receive Kieran Scott’s “She’s So Dead To Us” and the second signed book “He’s So Not Worth It.”

Clara Gillow Clark will receive “Apothecary” by Maile Meloy, a young adult historical (fantasy? I am not sure yet). From what I’ve heard, the book is absolutely amazing, readers are totally and absolutely raving about it, and of course I cannot wait to read it, myself!

Sarah Pearson will receive a copy of  “Popular” by Alissa Grosso, a Flux young adult book.

Have a great week, everyone!

KR

October 10, 2011 - Posted by | Updates

13 Comments »

  1. WoW That is a very nice surprise! Congrats to all the winners! Great way to start a week, eh_

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | October 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, and I hope your week is wonderful, too, Joyce 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. WOW! Thank you so much, Katia! I am so thrilled to be one of the LUCKY WINNERS! APOTHECARY is a perfect choice for me. Thanks, Joyce, for the CONGRATS! My mother always said, “As goes Monday, so goes the rest of the week.”

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | October 10, 2011 | Reply

    • I am so glad, Clara. Somehow I thought it would be 😉 Hey, maybe you can say a word or two about it on your blog when you’re done reading?
      Just give me some time to get it out to you. It might take a week or two. Thanks in advance for your patience!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much, Katia! I haven’t read Kieran Scott yet, so it’s a wonderful treat to be receiving a book or two of hers. And congrats to the other winners.

    Have a wonderful week.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | October 10, 2011 | Reply

    • My total pleasure, Medeia. Her second book came in the mail today. I predict you will pick it up as soon as you put down the first one. That’s what I did, anyway 🙂 Enjoy!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. That is such a lovely thought Katia. Believe me there are three of us in this house that would love to get our hands on a book like ‘Popular’ so I do appreciate it, but just in case you’ve forgotten, I live across the pond so I completely understand if you prefer not to send it. I’ll love you anyway, for the kind gesture 🙂

    Comment by Sarah Pearson | October 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I know where you live, Sarah, and though “the pond” is wide, if the mail can get there, then so can Alissa Grosso’s book! It might take me a while to get it out to you, but you WILL get it!!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. No worries, Katia. Send when you can. A Halloween treat would be fun! Do you have my mailing address?

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | October 11, 2011 | Reply

    • I think I still do, but if not, I’ll let you know! Thanks for your patience 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  6. That is a really sweet and generous thing for you to do, Katia! Now I’m wishing I hadn’t taken that three-week blogging break… Congrats to the winners.

    And I’m the same way about surprises. I always tell my kids or my friends, “Don’t tell me how it ends!”

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | October 12, 2011 | Reply

    • So you understand, Joanne! Don’t worry about missing more susprises — I am a bit addicted to giving away these books. Every year I donate a little bit of money to a Juvenile Diabetes group. My best friend’s daughter has the condition, and I feel for both of them deeply, and want to see their lives improved so bad. Other than that, I don’t give much (except presents). 🙂 If I were rich, oh, all the things I would give!! In the meantime, I think of this blog, and books, as my other cause, I guess, so I indulge myself a little. Glad to see you back from your break, J!

      Comment by Katia Raina | October 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

