Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Magic for Sale and a Giveaway Winner!

So just came back from Orlando, Florida, with lovely family. My favorite ride in all the parks: Harry Potter’s broomstick journey through Hogwarts and beyond.

I kept thinking how amazing it is that a single mortal’s imagination resulted in something so tangible.. a cobblestone street for millions of people to walk along . . . bottles of pumpkin juice and butterbeer for sale . . . a snaking line of vacationers waiting for an entry into a wand shop, as though they really are selling magic there. But then again, maybe they are.

On another note, upon my return one of the first things I had to do was pick out the giveaway winner.

And it gives me great pleasure to announce that this time my daughter pulled the name of . . .

my wonderful friend Joyce Moyer Hostetter out of the basket!!!

I swear I only entered Joyce’s name once, and even though I really wanted her to win, I promise there was no cheating!

Congrats, Joyce, you’ll be getting your copy of “The Berlin Boxing Club” in the mail soon. Just e-mail me with your address again, please. And the previous giveaway winners, please be patient. Sorry about the delay, but I’ll be getting those books to you soon as well!

AND, to totally spoil you, one more giveaway coming up in the next week or two, so keep your eyes open!

July 5, 2011 - Posted by | Personal Mirror, Writing Mirror

8 Comments »

  1. Really? Really?

    My day just got better. Oh wow! I’m so excited! Thank you!

    And hugs and kisses to dear daughter!

    Address on the way!

    Comment by Joyce Hostetter | July 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Really, really. I guess it was totally meant to be!

      Comment by Katia Raina | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. Congrats to Joyce!

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | July 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, congrats. And remember, Joanne, keep trying! There is something here for everyone — or at least that’s my ambition!! 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. Congrats, Joyce!

    I always go to Orlando for a pit stop or for cons. I need to experience their rides.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • I love it. I wish I could stop by and say hi to you — but the weekend was too short 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | July 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. Congratulations to Joyce! She so deserved to win! Thanks for the magical photo tour, Katia. Have a great writing day!

    Comment by Clara Gillow Clark | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks and same to you, Clara! Sorry I didn’t take that many photos . . . was having too much fun! 😉

      Comment by Katia Raina | July 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

