Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

I did it!

So, naturally my house is a wild, dirty mess, and look at the shoes in my closet:

But I did it. I did it!!! One year after I thought I was really done, I completed another draft of the historical fantasy novel manuscript I had been working on for years. I sent it to my agent about two hours ago.

I was so looking forward to writing this post. Now, the eagerness is replaced by a kind of numb disbelief. I thought I was going to celebrate this. But the moment the 300-page file left my inbox, doubts started trickling in. As in, who am I kidding sending such crazy nonsense to my agent?! In fact, a huge part of me is kind of positive right now that I have just produced 300 pages of worthlessness.

But, so what, really?

I gave this manuscript my nights, my mornings, my afternoons, my tears, my joy and my nerves, and that’s what counts, doesn’t it? I told the story. I told and re-told it.

And now it’s finished, finished, FINISHED — three hundred pages that aren’t pressing on me anymore.

I am DONE.

April 29, 2011 - Posted by | Writing Mirror | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Soo happy for you!!!!
    Congratulations!!!

    Comment by nan marino | April 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Nan! Your happiness makes me even happier . . . okay, I am starting to babble. But I mean it!!

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 29, 2011 | Reply

      • You are not babbling. Go rest and go have fun! You deserve it!

        Comment by nan marino | April 29, 2011

  2. Katia, how magnificent! Ah, yes doubts and numbness and babbling. All good. All normal.

    I am so pleased for you!

    Comment by Joyce Hostetter | April 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Joyce! Now you know why I haven’t been very cyber-social lately 🙂 But I know I don’t need to explain it — not to YOU.
      XOXOXO

      Comment by Katia Raina | April 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. Congratulations for finishing!

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | May 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Medeia!! The good feeling’s still here. 😉

      Comment by Katia Raina | May 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. Congrats and good luck!

    Comment by stephanie | May 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

