Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

The Draft

I am feeling a little numb, right now. Also, I am in a bit of disbelief.

About forty minutes ago as of this writing, I have finished The Draft. 229 pages. 52 chapters. 59,000 words.

Now.

I can’t possibly even send this thing to my trusty writing friend– yet – let alone e-mail it to my agent. Not until I take few days to a week to go over everything, to try and smooth over some of the rough edges. (Not longer than that – please Dear God, and the Universe, not longer!!!)

Hubby has been begging to see The Draft ever since the beginning of the year. Every time he approached my desk from behind, I’d minimize a whole bunch of files I had open. When he objected, I made my eyes round and in a horrified whisper told him, “Oh no. Nooooo! You don’t want to see it. Trust me. It’s horrible. Complete and utter CRAP.” Which, I think, scared him a little.  

Which, also, at this point, is true.

Thousands of things are wrong with The Draft, you see.

 Blatant inconsistencies. Ridiculous word repetitions. The most insane, confusing climax EVER.

I have a file called “revision notes,” filled with questions and loooong lists of things that need fixing.

And before you all go commenting that it’s normal for a first draft, please know that this ISN’T a first draft! Well, it isn’t – and it is, in a way. It’s a total and complete re-write of a much more polished, in some ways, better story. But based in an earlier time, with older characters, this new horribly messy draft has a POTENTIAL at least, to one day become something good.

Maybe.

And I have to be content with that right now.

And, actually, I am.

I am still feeling a little numb.

But good too. Hell, yeah, I’m feeling great.

I did it!

I’m going to have to do it again — and again — and again.

But as of right now, hurray for me!

What a fabulous way to start the New Year, don’t you think? 🙂

January 5, 2011 - Posted by | Writing Mirror | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I do think! Start the new year numb with shock that this milestone has been accomplished! So happy for you.

    I plan to post your guest blog on The 3 R’s tomorrow.

    Comment by Joyce Moyer Hostetter | January 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Yay, Joyce — can’t wait! I hope I make SOME sense there. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. Katia,

    Yay yay yay! Congratulations! I’m looking forward to reading it again, the NEW draft in its entirety.

    I better hurry up and finish my WIP for YOU! 🙂

    -P.

    Comment by Patti | January 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Looking forward to THAT, Patti! 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. Yay! That’s awesome. Despite all the work ahead, it feels wonderful. And it’s a great way to start the new year.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | January 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, Medeia! I like to celebrate EVERY victory, big AND small. 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

