Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

My Addiction

I have a serious addiction. E-mail. Checking it. Every minute. Every hour. Even two months ago, when my son was sick with possible swine flu. Check. Even when that time-consuming puppy is taking that precious nap. Check. Right in the middle of writing that amazing sentence that will make all the difference – check. What? How dare they not yet get back to me? I sent them a message an entire . . . five minutes ago. Oh. Okay. Give them a little more time then. Check. Check. Check.

It’ll only take a minute. It isn’t like Facebook, where by the time you get through each one of your friends’ updates, and comment on everyone’s post, and mediate on what you’ll say in yours, two hours go by. This is just as quick as typing up: www.hotmail.com Check.

Then one more minute to feel pathetic. Unloved. Abandoned. Despite the fact that it’s Sunday, and your own child who thinks the world of you is waiting to do that puzzle you have promised.

“I’m coming, babe! Just – one more minute.” Check.

It isn’t just the time drain. It’s the drain of spirit. It’s standing there with a bucket and waiting for a drop of rain to fall from the sky. Instead of pouring out into the world whatever it is I’ve got that’s worth pouring out.

Bad habits must go. Especially now that I have returned to cyberspace. I want to connect with people, friends worth keeping, future friends, amazing writers, fabulous authors, teenagers with big ideas, my future students, my future audiences. Facebook – back again, this blog now. Gasp – twitter. I want to connect, but I don’t want to lose my precious life out there. In a maze of virtual dependency and some weird unrealized high-school-type longing.

So, here is what I am pledging to do.

E-mail, FB, comments on this blog. Tech check once a day only. Morning only. Sounds so easy. Sounds so hard.

And what if, come evening-time, that compulsion makes my fingers itch? Then I will. . . write a sentence for my next blog entry. And if that’s done, the next sentence of the “in-progress,” whatever that happens to be at the moment. The first phrase of a new article.

 OK. I am serious. This is a promise. Yo, out there! Do you have addictions? Tell me about them here. Don’t be shy. Tell me how you fight them. Tell me what you’ll try next. I’ll check to see what you had to say tomorrow morning! 🙂

January 14, 2010 - Posted by | Personal Mirror

9 Comments »

  1. I’m on my Blackberry constantly and have different email accounts. So I totally understand. On the topic of Facebook Addiction, you will enjoy the new book, “Facebook Addiction: The Life & Times of Social Networking Addicts.”

    Amazon: http://www.TheFacebookAddiction.com/links/retail/amazon
    Blog: http://www.icecreammelts.com/blogs/facebook-addiction
    More Info: http://www.TheFacebookAddiction.com

    Comment by Nnamdi | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Dear Nnamdi,

      Your book sounds great – you definitely have me intrigued – now I just HAVE to read it. What an unusual hook for this widely talked-about and written-about phenomenon. Keep me posted on your news and writings!!

      Katia

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 15, 2010 | Reply

      • P.S.
        Nnamdi,

        I did, however, have a little trouble opening your links. My computer did freeze up, and I had to restart it, so you might want to check into that.

        K

        Comment by Katia Raina | January 15, 2010

  2. I’m with you.. Cyberspace addiction. I can spend hours, sometimes days.. 🙂 But, I chalk it up to research. 🙂

    Comment by Keri Mikulski | January 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hey Keri,

    But then again, it’s a nice way to connect , right? As in, you keeping an eye on my blog – this means so much to me!!
    I’ve been doing good with my vow . . . so far 🙂

    Comment by Katia Raina | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have the addiction myself. Especially since I’m querying agents. I have started writing without being connected to email. I find that checking continually takes the joy out of writing.

    Comment by Shannon Hitchcock | January 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Totally!! As for me, I think I found my groove. I do my “tech-check” first thing in the morning, get it out of my system, so I don’t think about it. Then, after I am done writing for the morning, if I have time, I’ll check again. Works OK so far 🙂 Let me know how you’re making out!!!

      Best wishes,
      Katia

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m with Keri! It’s all in the name of research. Seriously, that’s a great idea Katia. I’m going to try that once a day tech check thing. Morning is good for me too. Now onto other addictions – Snapple iced tea. The worst is when I drink Snapple while checking my email and fb page incessantly 😉

    Comment by Linda | January 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Linda,

    So nice of you to check in on me!! 🙂 I’ve actually moved the tech check to evenings now. Want to save the mornings for writing. Let’s see how that works. 🙂
    As for Snapple, that’s a nice one. I forgot to mention another one, too: I am addicted to fruit!!!

    Hugs,
    K

    Comment by Katia Raina | January 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

