Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

“Wondrous Strange,” by Lesley Livingston

Right away I must disclose, I feel awed and humbled to be sharing a literary agent with the author of this book. 🙂

HarperTeen 2009, paperback

It was magic. Lesley Livingston tore open the universe for me, and invited me into another realm, at once wondrous and strange. An intelligently written page-turner, how can one not love that – a book where a boy says to a girl, “I love thee,” and he does it in modern-day New York City? 🙂

I am not a big fan of high fantasy – the kind I love is set in real life, with a magic connection to some otherworld, and that’s just what I got here.  I loved the way Leslie crossed the modern life with the faerie world to create a brand new realm, unlike anything I have ever come across. 

I hear the sequel, “Darklight” just came out, and now of course I must get it ASAP!!

January 11, 2010 - Posted by | Book Impressions

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

