Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Snow day

Who doesn’t love the feeling of waking up in the morning, looking outside the window and finding the world swaddled in white?

It’s always a surprise, even with all the Extreme Weather warnings the night before. Having grown up in Russia – and having spent my early childhood in Siberia – I am at home in this weather. The whiteness covers the dead leaves and the mud. I look at the untouched softness around me, and I see a brand new world. As though everything was created just this morning, and we did not have a chance to screw it up yet, not with a single footprint.

I love snow, for the same reason I love mornings, New Year’s and revisions. The beauty of newness. Another chance to get it right 🙂 Speaking of revisions, back to work I go!

Happy Snow Day!!!

December 19, 2009 - Posted by | Personal Mirror, Writing Mirror |

2 Comments »

  1. Me too!! 🙂

    Happy Snow Day to you too!!

    Comment by Keri Mikulski | December 21, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Keri! I know your snow day was productive 🙂 The evidence awaits in my inbox – you go girl! Still trying to keep up with you 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

