Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

The Miracles of Winter

A word of warning about this post: the below musings are not religiously correct!!! I am thinking now, a whole another post on my very muddled religious views is in order . . . Coming soon . . .

We celebrate both Christmas and Hanukkah in our family. This year I am thinking how similar the two holidays are. I am thinking how something about the darkness of the season makes us want to decorate our houses with lights – be it flashing little santas on a tree or flickering candles on a menorah. I am also thinking how both of these holidays deal in miracles.

The miracle of the virgin birth, the miracle of Santa somehow making his rounds all over the world in one night, the miracle of oil lasting for eight nights.

My miracle happened yesterday, on the first night of Hanukkah. I think I was just bustling about in the kitchen. I was in some kind of a daze, on my mind the logistics of housebreaking,  the urgent need for cleaning, a revision question that stumps me. Then suddenly, I looked down at the puppy that lay under my feet. I knew she was cute  from the beginning. But at that moment, as I looked down at the little head cocked expectantly, her still blue eyes staring with so much trust, it hit me. I suddenly realized what it’s like to love yet another being. This time, a dog.

I don’t think I’ll ever be the same person again. Love. Isn’t it the best miracle?

P.S. Dear God, Santa and  . . . eh . . .  Dreidel Man . . . or something? Do you take miracle requests? Well . . . just in case you are looking for some more ideas . . . If I get back to revisions next week and figure out that dilemma which has been torturing me for a few days now, that would be another great miracle 🙂

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Personal Mirror | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Lovely post, Katia. But you forgot to mention Sol Invictus, Adonis/Tammuz, Osiris and Mithras–all of whom share the 25th as birthday.

    Enjoy the pup!

    Comment by Marc Graham | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Marc – wow, really? I didn’t know! Even more miracles then – what is it about the end of December??

      K

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] miracle of love.  https://katiaraina.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/the-miracles-of-winter/  The miracle of dreams coming true, the miracle of manifesting your wishes into reality — […]

    Pingback by Happy Miracles! « MAGIC MIRROR | December 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] miracle of love.  https://katiaraina.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/the-miracles-of-winter/  The miracle of dreams coming true, the miracle of manifesting your wishes into reality — […]

    Pingback by Happy Miracles! « MAGIC MIRROR | December 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

