Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

We have a puppy!

Yep, it was an early Hanukkah surprise for the kids. They just came home from school on an ordinary Tuesday – or so they thought – to discover an adorable 9-week-old Brittany nutcase waiting for them.

At first, they kind of didn’t know how to react. They aren’t used to surprises – even good ones; they like life nicely planned, reviewed in dreams many times over, everything thought of in advance. It took them, oh, half and hour to an hour to really recover and start romping with the crazy puppy and, I think, to even realize – wow – this amazing thing just happened to us.

We try to teach the kids: don’t calculate so much, because you can’t know how any of it turns out, anyhow.

Take me, for example. As a first-time puppy mom, I fretted and read loads of books and tried to get ready, but nothing could have possibly prepared me for this madness and this joy. One second I am tearing my hair out: “What did I get myself into??” The next moment, I am running around with the silly baby in the backyard, and we are making fifty million circles around the territory that suddenly feels like brand new land. One moment, it feels like I’m the one who’s on a pink faux-leather leash, tied forever to the gorgeous little monster. The next moment, I am practically bouncing up and down – almost literally, I’m not joking! – as though I’m this hyper-destructive-chewy-sniffing machine- ready to take on the world.

You should have seen our kitchen counter this morning: cat food bowls, dog food stuff, kids’ dirty plates, bills, manuscript pages. It’s nice and clean now, thank you very much. Hurray for puppy naps! 

One day at a time, the breeder told me on the phone yesterday. And that’s the way I’m going to take it!

Wish me luck!!! 🙂

December 9, 2009 - Posted by | Personal Mirror

5 Comments »

  1. […] This post was Twitted by jessregel […]

    Pingback by Twitted by jessregel | December 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good luck with your new baby, Katia! New additions to the family are always an adjustment. I’m sure she’s already a permanent fixture : ) What’s her name?

    I love your blog, by the way! What a wonderful perspective you have. I’ve subscribed through my blog-reader, but you might want to consider adding a gidget that allows readers to simply click to subscribe–check with your blogsite to see what they have. I can help if you need. I’m sure many others will enjoy following you as well.

    And congrats on a new agent!!! That’s great! I really have been out of touch, haven’t I? My fault, I’m sure. I’ll write soon. In the meantime, enjoy your new little one!

    -PB

    Comment by Patti Brown | December 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Patti!! Her name is Lucky, and she is a sweetheart. Besides the regular puppy faults, she really is just a great all around dog! I think we just need to learn how to understand her 🙂 It’s nice to know you’re reading – it really means a lot to me.

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Awwww. She is adorable! I hope you are enjoying her.

    I considered getting a puppy for Hanukkah, too. I even fell in love with one. It was sad when I realized I had to let him go. The kids are still too small. But I have a feeling we’ll get one sooner than the “when you’re 10” deadline I set!

    Comment by tara | December 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Tara! I just noticed your comment – don’t know how I missed it – sorry!!! Thanks for keeping an eye on my blog – it means so much to me. Lucky is still a handfull, though I love her, yes. But with your kids being too small, don’t rush it. Your life will absolutely change with that milestone 🙂
      Oh, and don’t feel bad about that one you fell in love with. We had that kind of a story too, last year: wrong time, wrong puppy, etc. When the time is right, you’ll know – and I hope you’ll keep us all posted on YOUR blog 🙂

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

