Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Hello world!

What a terrifying and exciting journey, to be starting this blog. But then again, anything worthy is like that: a little scary.

I hope this blog will be part journal, part sounding board, part magic mirror, through which I look back and sometimes glance forward. But most of all I hope this will be a conversation. Once upon a time I belonged to the now extinct species: a Soviet Jew. Now I am so much more: a writer, a dreamer, a mama, a still smitten wife, a journalist, an aspiring teacher. Also, I am a student of the human soul.

This blog is one of many ways of stepping outside my charming little writing space in Manahawkin, New Jersey, and my chocolate-smelling life as this writer in pajamas. I am still feeling really shy and self-conscious. But I am a little giddy too. Standing in my socks on the threshold of what I feel is a new period in my life, I breathe in the wind. I am waving my hand at anyone who cares to wave back, and saying, “Hi there!”

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Personal Mirror |

7 Comments »

  1. I share your beautiful enthusiasm. I wish I could be more like you. Maybe someday when I grow up a little more lol. You are someone very special and I feel wonderful things coming your way. Your dreams are going to be fulfilled, I just know it!!!

    Comment by Debbie Clarke | November 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey BFF,

    Thanks for checking out my nascent blog, and for being the first to comment! No need to wish you could be more like me. Not someone like you, who is already this amazing. Whatever it is you think I got, you most definitely have it!

    Love,
    Katia

    Comment by Katia Raina | November 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Katia–I’m adding you to my blog feed and putting a link on my website. Welcome to the blogging world! You have such a unique perspective and a strong voice. I’m so glad that everyone else now has a chance to hear it 🙂

    Thanks for the link!
    -PB

    Comment by Patti Brown | November 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Patti,

      You are making me feel as though I am not alone doing this. Hey, maybe we can create a small blogging community?? 🙂

      XOXO
      Katia

      Comment by Katia Raina | November 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi there Katia! (imagine me doing a big, football stadium wave 🙂
    Love what you’ve written so far…even the pol piece. Hope to check in from time-to-time.

    Comment by Archana Bharathan | December 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Archana,

      Thanks for the big wave back 🙂 Do check in again – who knows what I’m going to come up with next! 🙂

      Thank you!
      K

      Comment by Katia Raina | December 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

