Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Off to Hogwarts!

Hey guys,

Just letting you know it’s almost time. Two days, to be precise. Time to launch the third semester. Time to pack up my wand — um, I mean pen – my numerous notebooks, my thickest of sweaters. (Brrrrr!!!) Time to take the plane to Vermont College of Fine Arts– the secret snowy north place, where they teach magic. I know what to expect from this Hogwarts by now: the tiny dorm, the dizzyingly small campus where I will walk in circles from lecture to workshop to reading to cafeteria to lecture to workshop and back again, where I will float on magic air among fellow Gryffindors. I know what to expect. And yet VCFA is like writing itself, it always surprises you. I can’t wait to see the dear faces, hear new exquisite words from classmates and grads and faculty, can’t wait to talk magic, can’t wait to get sorted with my next advisor assignment! And I can’t wait, once again, to be surprised.

As always, when I come back, I’ll try my best to share my discoveries.

my Hogwarts

See you in a few weeks!

Cheers, KR

January 7, 2014 - Posted by | Personal Mirror, VCFA Adventures |

19 Comments »

  1. So excited for you – I have the heart of a professional student, so if you don’t mind I shall live vicariously through you! Have fun!

    Comment by Maryann Candito | January 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh you are totally allowed :) And I know what you mean about a professional student. While I will always be a earner, as far as studies go, this one is my last hurrah!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2014 | Reply

  2. remember to pack your thermal robes! and sorrels. and maybe those spiky things that you can strap on to the bottom of your boots.

    Comment by Sue Heavenrich | January 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Ha, I know, right? From what I’m hearing it’s crazy/beyond freezing over there now.

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 7, 2014 | Reply

  3. Have a terrific semester. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about it.

    Comment by Rosi | January 7, 2014 | Reply

  4. Good for you, Katia. Will be waiting for your new discoveries…

    Comment by maggymoogie | January 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Sounds good — will oblige as soon as I can!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  5. Have fun! Practice your spells!

    Comment by Sheila (Book Journey) | January 7, 2014 | Reply

  6. Have a great time and stay warm! I look forward to hearing about the surprises you discover.

    Comment by Doris Stone | January 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Yeah, staying warm will be interesting :)

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  7. Have a magical time!

    Comment by ellenramsey | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  8. I love your posts about what you’ve learned. Have a wonderful time.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | January 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Medeia! Just be patient with me, it always takes me a bit of time to get back into things when I return. But those posts will be there!

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 8, 2014 | Reply

  9. It’s so exciting, Katia! How grateful you must be that you can experience this :)

    Comment by writersideup | January 9, 2014 | Reply

  10. On Saturday, February 22, 2014 8:51 PM, “grstmodeb@aol.com” wrote:

    Comment by maggymoogie | February 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

