Katia Raina

The Magic Mirror

Happy 2014! A Rambling New Year’s Post

Just back from New York City, on the heels of the craziest night of the year. My family’s New Year’s eve was made of stars, theMe and my daughter, on the boat's top deck windy Big Dipper shining over the Hudson River, while fireworks broke the night above our heads. On the cruise boat’s lower deck my husband and I took over the dance floor. Our kids rolled their eyes at us from the nearby table, while my husband’s eyes shone stars into mine. Our voices twined, singing along more than song lyrics.

This first day of the year was already a good one. The morning wind blew less harshly than the night before, as the four of us walked to the Port Authority Bus Terminal from our hotel. Being in the city to greet 2014 reminded me of my American beginnings, of that excitement and chaos I am made of.

Once we got home, I made sure to build the rest of the day out of writing: writing story, writing poetry, writing some, reading some.

As the longtime readers of this blog might know, I used to be superstitious about New Year’s eve. I guess I still am a little bit. But I am also more open now to whatever the Universe has in mind for me, in its magical Universe mind. I try to focus on what I can do, let go of the things I cannot control. It’s been freeing.

I hope your New Year’s eve was magical in its own way. Most of all, I hope your year will be, too.

We may not be able to will the magic into our every year. But I am pretty hopeful that we can invite some of it in through the simplest of actions. Because, aren’t our years made of the stuff of our days?

Aren’t our years made of our dreams? Our loves? Our souls? Shouldn’t they be?

Happy New Year! Make it great!

January 1, 2014 - Posted by | Personal Mirror | ,

10 Comments »

  1. Happy, magical new year to you.

    Comment by Rosi | January 1, 2014 | Reply

  2. A magical beginning to what should be a magical year–Happy New Year!

    Comment by ellenramsey | January 1, 2014 | Reply

  3. What a cool way to start 2014! I love that your New Year’s Eve “was made of stars.” So poetic, Katia. Have a fantastic new year.

    Comment by Joanne Fritz | January 1, 2014 | Reply

  4. Beautiful, Katia.

    Comment by Anna Craig | January 1, 2014 | Reply

  5. When I lived in New York as a child, I didn’t do anything special for New Year’s except watch Dick Clark. I do vacation in New York, but never around New Year’s. I’d like to go during the winter. It sounds wonderful. The city also reminds me of my immigrant roots.

    Happy New Year.

    Comment by Medeia Sharif | January 2, 2014 | Reply

    • Give it a try sometime Medeia. Just remember, the city is pretty insane during this time. You have to like that kind of thing. But, I don’t know, maybe something about being an immigrant endears us to that crazy magic?

      Comment by Katia Raina | January 2, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

